You have plucked me, with trickery, from my watery world

The only world I know, by making me curious, alerting my easily entertained mind

Knowing I did not know any better, and that you had the upper hand

I either want to be reeled in, or let go of.

I can no longer hang here, suspended in reality and confusion and assumption

I will no longer hang here, floundering, attempting to manuever this way and that

How much more can I try?

What is it that you want from me?

What are your intentions?

Intentionally malicious, or do you also not know any better?

Either filet me for dinner, or toss me back in the water mercifully

Do not let me dangle here, not knowing what is up and what is down

What is right and what is wrong

Make up your mind, fisherman, please, take pity

Don’t allow me to suffocate in my own hurt while you take your time

Do I not have time, too?

To you, I’m a hobby, to me, it’s my life

I’m surprised you are even listening

To a fish’s lament.

About Aloha Mister Hand

28, horror-loving chick, lover of animals, movies, and her boyfriend.

8 responses »

  1. Poor fish, they get an awful death when you think about it. Good poem, though.

  2. mistylayne says:

    Very lovely. Nice metaphor too, the lament can apply to so many different scenarios.

  3. jpthorn says:

    I really liked this one, Jamie. Good job. I have often pondered about how sad a fish’s life actually is.

  4. poddys says:

    Nicely done. I never wanted to be a fish for obvious reasons.

Speak :)

