Invisibility.

Not just a superhero’s power.

What I know all too well.

Pain.

Hurt.

Embarrassment.

Loneliness.

Confusion.

Concern.

Fear.

Doubt.

Worry.

Nervous.

Anxious.

Apprehension.

Broken.

Terrified.

Aggravation.

Tension.

Fret.

Bashful.

Panic.

Knowing and not caring.

Caring and not knowing.

Back and forth.

Up and down.

A rollercoaster.

Butterflies.

Stomachache.

Maybe the butterflies got caught in the knots.

Headache.

Sleepless.

Toss and turn.

Back and forth.

Up and down.

A rollercoaster.

A short reprieve.

Flying again, in my own head,

In my own emotions,

Not knowing where I’m going,

Or where I belong,

If anywhere.

Longing.

Wanting.

Feeling.

Not feeling.

Not wanting to feel.

Feeling not wanted.

Tears.

Red face.

Oh, that ugly crying face.

Stop that, you look ridiculous.

So, this was one of the first ones I ever wrote. Be kind πŸ™‚

About Aloha Mister Hand

28, horror-loving chick, lover of animals, movies, and her boyfriend.

26 responses »

  1. I. Love. This. PERIOD.
    I’m Reblogging It, Just So Ya Know!
    πŸ˜‰
    -BRAD

  2. Reblogged this on "You Jivin' Me, Turkey?" and commented:
    I Just Really Really Liked This One A Bunch.
    I Love Her Work, Fo SHO!
    -BRAD

  3. jmount43 says:

    Excellent!

  4. kloipy says:

    Nice job for your first poem Jamie. What poets do you like? I’m interested to see your next one

    • Thank you so much! I’ve been working on a few more, but not quite sure they’re ready yet. Actually, I don’t know many poets. I’ve never actually been into it that much, but sometimes things just pop up in my head and my heart and I have to put them down on paper….or computer. *lol*

      • kloipy says:

        just keep writing is my advice for what it’s worth. I’d suggest for you Emily Dickinson, I think you will dig her stuff. I enjoy poems that go off normal structure so I appreciated this one.

      • Thanks! I actually have no idea how to “write” poetry, so I’m not even sure I can call it that, because I don’t know even the first thing about structure. It just comes to me and I write it. Hopefully, that’s a good thing! Thanks for the suggestion!

  5. theipc says:

    Hey – great job, Jamie! Honestly – I really liked that and, like I told you the other day that I don’t “get” poetry, I think I actually “got” that one. Very well done πŸ™‚

  6. RaoulDukeKD says:

    Great stuff. Was this planned out or freestyle?

  7. Curious – can you relate to the poem you wrote, or did you just try to imagine what a lot of people go through?

  8. mistylayne says:

    Excellent! Well written and it’s a nice visual with how design layout. πŸ™‚

  9. Raymond says:

    I liked it, especially the ending lines. You could probably do an entire poem made up of the stupid, mean things people say to one another…hmmm that gives me an idea πŸ™‚ Very depressing as most poetry should be LOL. I think what surprised me, is that I imagined you the more Happy-go-lucky type and didn’t expect something that demonstrated such pain (not your pain necessarily but pain just the same). If you are going to try more…and you should, you should check out writer’s cafe…it is a mecca of young poets reviewing each other’s work with some constructive commentary.

    • That’s very cool, thanks a lot! I really appreciate it. Yeah, it’s definitely from personal experience. It may not be poetry per say, but it’s better than writing some long diatribe about something. Sometimes, less is more I guess. Thanks again!

  10. […] posted on the author’s website at Aloha Mister Hand blog. Share it:ShareFacebookTwitterPinterestEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  11. […] deep, huh? Found this just today, and it was originally posted on the author’s website at Aloha Mister Hand blog. Share it:ShareFacebookTwitterPinterestEmailLike this:Like2 bloggers like […]

  12. My teacher gave me the link to this site, and she is absolutely
    right in every way! keep up all the good work.

Speak :)

