Okay, so, if you haven’t seen this yet, I strongly urge you to do so. As much as I am on a different page than some people when it comes to good horror movies, I will definitely say that this is one of best, most refreshing horror movies I have seen in years. I couldn’t wait to see this, and it was even better than I imagined it would be. I am truly impressed.

Some people may think this film is nothing but violence and gore for its own sake, but it’s much more than that. As I write more about films, the more I realize how many I love that deal with human behavior and the potential for depravity. This is no exception. Besides being brilliantly directed by Lucky McKee, and partially written by the great Jack Ketchum, we get nothing less than a beautifully shot, haunting tale of a so-called family man who captures a wild, cannibalistic woman in the woods and keeps her confined in the cellar. The son is a virtual fucking psychopath following in his abusive father’s footsteps, the oldest daughter has nearly the same look on her face throughout the whole movie, and the wife is weak, despondent, and submissive, though it seems not willingly so. It’s been a while since a movie made me feel even slightly uncomfortable, so for me, that’s saying something.

 I’m not going to mention anything that happens, because if you’ve not seen it, do yourself a favor and watch it. Yeah, you may not like it (though I doubt it), but you will definitely never forget it. Okay, I can’t help it, I have to at least mention that the scene where the Woman bites off Chris’ finger is fucking DIVINE. The effects and the make-up are fantastic, and the acting…..wow. Pollyanna McIntosh did such an amazing job as the Woman that it’s hard to believe she’s only acting. If you have seen it, you know exactly what I am talking about. The music and its usage throughout is impeccable. The violence and gore never seems out of place, and always has a purpose. Hell, by the time you get to the end, and maybe even before, you will be rooting for The Woman. Honestly, I found myself yelling at the screen, doing that thing we all hate, where we try to tell the characters what to do and they just won’t listen. It’s infuriating, heart-pounding, and definitely intense, and I just really, really loved it. I will probably be doing a little bit more in-depth post about this at a later time, because I really don’t want to spoil it for anyone. As I’ve said before, this is one movie you just have to see for yourself!

 Now, go watch it!

About Aloha Mister Hand

28, horror-loving chick, lover of animals, movies, and her boyfriend.

22 responses »

  1. Mike says:

    I just watched this for the first time last week and enjoyed it. I’d like to speak about it more, in particular the “surprise” dog near the end and the ending itself but doing so may ruin it for others, so I won’t. A nice surprise of a film.

  2. I Wanna See This, But Have Yet To Make My Run To Ye Ole Video Store hahaha
    But I WILL SEE IT!!!
    -BRAD

  3. theipc says:

    good job 🙂 I really like McKee’s stuff but I didn’t really care for this one…

    • Thanks!
      Really, how come?

      • theipc says:

        it’s been awhile since I’ve seen it but I remember the music really drove me insane and distracted me and then and I didn’t care for the wife beating – or what was in that barn 🙂 but I liked the end

      • Ahh, I see! I actually loved the music, but I like strange tunes in horror movies! I didn’t like the wife beating either! But if I didn’t watch movies about stuff I didn’t like, I wouldn’t be a horror movie freak, lol! The end was epic! I was like, Fuck yeah!!! LMAO

      • theipc says:

        yes – that ending was awesome!

  4. karlails says:

    Great post, I saw this a couple of weeks ago, I liked it, especially the really dark comedy tones. I’ll do a review myself sometime.

  5. rwhyan says:

    Nice. I’ll have to look into this one!

  6. jmount43 says:

    The more this film progressed, the more I found myself with a deep seated hatred for the husband. He has to be one of the most reprehensible characters I’ve seen in a long time. Great movie and great review!

  7. Really liked this movie, still prefer May but great none the less.

  8. This movie depressed me and I cut myself.

    haha, no I didn’t cut myself, I went and ate some comfort food (McNuggets/fries) and cried myself to sleep. Only instead of crying myself to sleep, I watched Svengoolie (do you get MeTV? If so, check him out!) until I passed out.

    Pollyanna made this movie. The guy who played the dad reminded me of Will Ferrell….did anyone else get that vibe?

    • Haha, ummm, I was gonna say, I really hope this movie didn’t make you cut yourself! It was fairly depressing, but it had a fantastic ending that definitely made up for it!!!

      • Yes! I need to see Offspring now. I read Offseason a few years ago, pretty good book.

      • jmount43 says:

        Pretty good? Off Season is a gore connoiseurr’s wet dream.

      • It’s like his first novel and he wore his influences a bit too much on his sleeve for my liking. It was like a pastiche of 70’s grindhouse. There is nothing wrong with that at all, it’s an entertaining book. I just didn’t care for it all that much.

Speak :)

