Independence Day (1996) – As we watched the United States come crashing down as extraterrestrial beings invaded, smarty-pants David and badass Steven decided they can put a stop to it by turning their own technology against them. After rallying the troops, President Whitmore makes the speech that gives me chills to this day.

Crazy in Alabama (1999) – After being abused and beaten by her husband for 13 years, Lucille decides to murder him, and fulfill her dream of being an actress. When she is arrested and put on trial, she speaks eloquently and pitifully about those awful years, and how someone can kill a person slowly, aside from physical abuse, even with the little things. I always tear up at this part, and this movie is amazing.

Ghosts of Mississippi (1996) – After justice has been delayed for 30 years, a determined young lawyer makes it his life’s work to finally prosecute the assassin of Medgar Evers, Byron de la Beckwith. A powerful true story, Alec Baldwin gives his best performance to date.

Dream a Little Dream (1989) – After being switched in an experiment gone wrong, Bobby Keller realizes what is and is not important in life. His monologue, told as buddy Joel holds a gun to a bully’s head, details how short life is, and how petty and stupid things are when you are young.

And Justice for All (1979) – Arthur Kirkland has an epiphany and is sick of getting off obviously guilty clients, so he goes on a rant in the middle of the trial, and declares that his client is guilty and ought to be convicted and sent to prison. This movie shows what happens when a man must confront what is right and what is wrong, in life, and in the justice system.

Carrie (1976) – Living with and suffering the brutality and insanity of her mother, young Carrie has had enough and shows her mother her telekinetic powers. Carrie finally speaks up for herself, and tells Margaret she’s going to the dance, she’s not a witch, and her father left with another woman, not Satan.

Remember the Titans (2000) – Coach Herman Boone is sick of his players segregating themselves, so he takes them all on a long trek to Gettysburg cemetery in the middle of night. He tells them if they don’t stop hating one another for no reason, they too will fall.

A Time to Kill (1996) – Jake Brigance gives his amazing closing argument, tearfully telling the story of his client’s young daughter, an African-American, who was brutally raped and almost killed by two white supremacists. He tells the jury to close their eyes and picture her, and then imagine she’s white.

Clerks 2 (2006) – After being detained for a short period for holding a donkey show inside Mooby’s, Randal spills his guts to Dante. He tells Dante he should do what he wants to do, and live his own life, not just do what everyone else wants him to. He even chokes back tears when telling Dante he loves him.

SLC Punk! (1998) –  Well, almost all of this fantastic movie is some sort of a monologue, so I chose the end. Steve-O has now gone on to law school after the heartbreaking death of his best friend, and realizes he was nothing but a “goddamn, trendy-ass poser” all along.

About Aloha Mister Hand

28, horror-loving chick, lover of animals, movies, and her boyfriend.

12 responses »

  1. No Scarface, “SAY HELLO TO THE BAD GUY”? 😀 Very cool topic choice. I approve. Though I must admit I’ve only seen a few of these…

  2. Good choices, I would personally add these two

    Tyler Durden from Fight Club

    “You are not your job.
    You are not how much you have in the bank.
    You are not the contents of your wallet.
    You are not your fucking Khakis.
    You are not a beautiful and unique snowflake.
    You are the all-singing, all-dancing crap of
    the world.”

    O-ren Ishii from Kill Bill

    “As your leader, I encourage you from time to time, and always in a respectful manner, to question my logic. If you’re unconvinced that a particular plan of action I’ve decided is the wisest, tell me so, but allow me to convince you and I promise you right here and now, no subject will ever be taboo. Except, of course, the subject that was just under discussion. The price you pay for bringing up either my Chinese or American heritage as a negative is… I collect your fucking head. Just like this fucker here. Now, if any of you sons of bitches got anything else to say, now’s the fucking time!”

  3. Lots of courtroom speeches – perhaps you’ll make your own someday?

    I hate to admit it, but I did enjoy watching Independence Day, even though most film buffs have contempt for the film. I mainly liked it because of the jet aircraft battles. That said, I wasn’t a fan of the President’s speech (but I didn’t really like any of the dialogue in the film).

    I saw Carrie a few years ago, and I liked it, but I I only remember the final showdown (I didn’t write a review of that movie, so my memory of the film is a bit foggy). The same thing applies with Clerks 2 (but I was also drunk when I saw that movie, so that was probably a factor too).

    Shit, I’ve been meaning to see SLC Punk for a long time… I’ll have to watch it when I’m done reposting my old movie reviews… But I am glad to hear that it’s a fantastic film – I was hoping you would say that!

  4. karlails says:

    Great choices, have you seen 25th Hour? There is a great monologue where Edward Norton tells “fuck you” to various racial, social and religious groups. The movie is cool and worth seeing if just for that scene.

  5. Independence Day is a good movie….loved it. Haven’t seen it in a long….long time…..but it’s good..

  6. ‘Crazy in Alabama’ and ‘Ghosts of Mississippi’ are both really powerful, films and the cases made in both are incredible. A couple of these I haven’t seen but may look into them. Two speeches I would add, Al Pacino’s speech about ‘carrying that bag of bricks’ in Devil’s Advocate, and Mel Gibson’s speech in Braveheart where he ralies the troops to go fight against the superior British Army.

  7. Mike says:

    Jack Nicholson’s monologue from A Few Good Men? “You can’t handle the truth…”

Speak :)

