As a huge animal lover, it always tugged my heartstrings when an animal died in a horror film. Here’s to those who didn’t reach the end credits, and kudos to the few who did.

The Victims

Lester, little Lindsey Wallace’s dog from the original Halloween barked and barked until he came up against Michael Myers, who is no friend to the animals.

Sundae, The Carruther’s beloved family dog, also did not survive Myers’ reign of terror in Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers.

Poor Max, Tina’s dog from Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers, tried to warn Rachel that someone was in the house….too bad for him, he was on the victim list, too.

Elvis, little Michael’s rat in Rob Zombie’s Halloween, definitely did not get much screen time. Maybe if Ms. Myers had recognized this first segment of the MacDonald Triad, a few more people (and animals) might be alive today…

This poor pooch in Rob Zombie’s Halloween II wasn’t killed onscreen, thankfully, but we should know by now that it is not likely that Michael let him live after his guardians were such assholes.

This poor homeless old man and his friendly dog fell victim to Patrick Bateman’s evil and rage in American Psycho. To this day, I cannot, and will not watch this scene ever again. In fact, I cried like a baby the first time….never again.

After Church is sadly killed on that damned highway in Pet Sematary, he is revived (and no longer a loving cat) after being buried.

When Zowie is cruelly killed by Drew’s prick of a stepfather in Pet Sematary Two, he returns to get revenge.

After his companion, Beauty, is brutally killed by the inbred cannibalistic hill people in The Hills Have Eyes (1977 & 2006), Beast helps Doug exact revenge and rescue his infant child. These creatures also eat and drink the blood of a few unfortunate parakeets.

David and Amy’s sweet cat is strangled and hanged in the closet as a warning in Straw Dogs (1971 & 2011).

This horse from The Ring decides he just can’t take it anymore, and plunges himself into the ocean.

The Survivors

Alice’s indoor/outdoor cat apparently isn’t on Jason’s list of potential victims in Friday the 13th Part II.

Muffin, Terry’s adorable pup from Friday the 13th Part II miraculously survives….I take it Jason prefers human victims to the four-legged kind…

It is actually unknown as to whether or not Gordon, Tommy Jarvis’ dog from Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter survives. Let’s just say, and hope, he did after leaping out of the window into the rain.

Toby, Rennie’s sweet and loyal dog from Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan, survived an ill-fated voyage, an attempted gunshot, and the mean streets of New York…..what a champ!

This little guy narrowly escaped being shot and inserted into an ATM by Patrick Bateman. Thankfully, some kind old lady stopped him, and took the cat’s place instead!

Jason, Kincaid’s cute pup from The Dream Master, famously pees on Freddy’s bones in the junkyard, thus reviving him. I guess that’s why he let the little pooch live….too bad Kincaid didn’t get the same leniency..

Congratulations to all four-legged survivors of horror films, but we stop to remember those of you who didn’t make it….

About Aloha Mister Hand

28, horror-loving chick, lover of animals, movies, and her boyfriend.

31 responses »

  1. This post actually worries me, given that the area I currently reside in has the worst record in the entire city for animal cruelty. 😉 And it is a great read, too.

  2. rwhyan says:

    Lol very nice! Great idea, very unique.

  3. Haha great idea for a post. This was a great read. One day I plan to do stuff like this, but got so many ideas it’s difficult to focus on 1 lol.
    Dave

  4. psykko666 says:

    You forgot this poor little stray kitty from American Psycho. lol

  5. RaoulDukeKD says:

    Nice list. I’d add in the guide dog that gets shot in The Toxic Avenger too.

  6. Animals – the invisible victims in horror movies. The subject of your list is something most people never think about. It’s good to see thoughtful lists being made.

    I usually don’t pay much attention to simulated (fake) animal death in movies, probably because they rarely show the human kill the animal. I find it kinda underwhelming when we see the animal alive in one scene, then it cuts to another scene, and all of a sudden the animal is dead. Then the film blasts dramatic music, to let everyone know the animal was KILLED, like in Fatal Attraction (a non-horror movie, but I see it happen in lots of horror films).

    My memory is a bit hazy – because it’s been a long time since I saw Alien 3. But if memory serves me correctly, a dog died in that movie, which made me uncomfortable. But I can’t recall if the dog was skinned alive, or if the film was showing the alien changing form. I’ll have to watch the movie again sometime, but it won’t be anytime soon, because it wasn’t a good movie. I considered it to be a very disturbing case of simulated animal death – but I’d have to watch it again, to see if I still agree.

    BUT, I am not saying I want to see pets get killed in real life. This isn’t an example about pets, but Mangiati Vivi (Eaten Alive) was a cannibal movie that showed a guy stab an alligator in the head. It was a case of unsimulated animal death. That case of animal death was even less necessary than the animal deaths in Cannibal Holocaust, because it added absolutely nothing to the movie, and was totally pointless. It was just Umberto Lenzi trying to ensure his movie had a “badass” reputation. So I find the animal cruelty in that movie to be even more infuriating than the animal cruelty in Cannibal Holocaust. (However, Eaten Alive was an awesome movie, just because I had a blast watching it).

    • Thanks for your comment! I figured as an animal lover and horror lover, they could merge somehow! LOL! I know what you mean, animal cruelty in any form is infuriating, it breaks my heart so bad, you don’t even know. Even in movies where it is simulated…that’s just me! I even get sad at poor animals on the side of (or in the middle of) the road. Appreciate the support!

  7. How about the dog that has the flashback in the original Hills Have Eyes 2? Did he survive? I could never finish watching it….

  8. ThereWolf says:

    Top write-up – well played, Aloha.

    There must be hundreds of victims/ survivors to go at with a list like this. You probably don’t want to watch ‘Bad Boy Bubby’ in which a cat gets cling-filmed to death (and I believe they DID kill a cat “humanely” for the production). Also, ‘Lacombe, Lucien’ where various rabbits, chickens & birds are massacred on screen. Both these films are good – but this kind of cruelty makes watching them a tough ask…

    • Thanks a lot 🙂
      I know what you mean! It’s awful when it’s fake, but even more horrifying when we know it is real. I don’t believe in killing animals for the sake of film, there’s just something twisted and sick and wrong about it. I’ve heard of Bad Boy Bubby, but haven’t gotten around to watching it yet. Appreciate the comment! Thanks again!

      • ThereWolf says:

        No problem.

        If you can get through the first 20 mins of Bubby, you should be able to see it through. But that first 20 is grimmer than grim, not just cat cruelty… incest… I know a few folk who just switched it off and to be honest I don’t blame them.

        How about the cat in Cat’s Eye? That’s a survivor – didn’t it fight off a troll or something…?

      • I haven’t actually seen Cat’s Eye….weird, I know! I scanned through Bad Boy Bubby a while back and it was definitely…….odd. LOL

  9. Alex Roy says:

    Great post! I agree 100% on the American Psycho, scene, it disturbed me as well.

Speak :)

