I’d like to start by saying the point of this movie is very important, to every person, and especially to parents. The subject matter is very intense, and startling in its depiction of how many teen girls really act. That said, the beginning hour or so of this film sucks, and is totally unnecessary.

Megan and Amy are best friends, and while Megan is super popular (guess why), Amy is sort of a loner. Perhaps there is some character development needed, but watching teenage girls act like sluts and talk about how many guys they’ve been with while doing drugs, getting drunk, and throwing unchaperoned house parties is not my idea of a good time. Not all girls act like that, and it doesn’t need to be glorified. They also tend to talk to many guys over the internet and meet them, which for a 13 and 14-year-old is not the best idea in the world. However, it does lead up to the rest of the film, and it is not much of a surprise when Megan goes missing after supposedly going to meet “Josh”, a guy she’s never seen because his webcam is broke, I guess? Red alert, maybe? Fourteen year olds are not this dumb and if they are, their parents need serious help and should be charged with negligence. No 13-14 year old should be allowed to have an internet-enabled computer in their room unsupervised. In this day and age? Idiots. Besides the weirdness that comes from noticing that I know a girl who looks just like the actress playing Megan, the characters are pretty annoying and snarky. But then, what teenage girl isn’t at some point?

Common sense aside, I suppose it is also no surprise that everyone blames Amy, the outcast, for Megan’s disappearance, because teenagers can be really dumb and cruel. Amy decides to contact “Josh”, who proceeds to berate her, humiliate her, and threaten her over the internet. She is very attached to her video camera, and uses it to record her thoughts and feelings about Megan and what’s happened.  Megan’s disappearance is all over the news, and completely takes over another case of a missing African-American boy, because our world has become so prejudiced these days, and since Megan is white and rich, this should also come as no surprise, much to my chagrin. Amy doesn’t speak up about “Josh” until weeks later, when suddenly she also promptly disappears while videotaping herself talking in her favorite hide-out spot. Now they’re both gone, and authorities are baffled. Of course, no one knows who “Josh” is, and apparently cannot track their conversations or IP address. However, two photos portraying a distressed Megan entrapped in some sort of device are somehow leaked on the internet. The last 30 minutes or so of this film are the best, because it finally gets going, albeit being very graphic and saddening. Seriously, the last part of the film is a little disturbing, particularly when you realize this guy will never be caught, and no one knows if these girls will ever be found.

Amy is taken to some dungeon somewhere and stripped down and forced into a closet where she is locked in. She is forced to eat off the floor, yelled at, hosed down with cold water, and finally brutally raped. This is all caught on Amy’s video camera, which the killer has now used as a trophy of sorts. The authorities eventually find it in a trash can near where Amy vanished, and are horrified at what they see. After being brutalized, the killer tells her they are leaving, and she is forced near a big blue barrel which finally reveals its contents – a very dead Megan. Amy is screaming hysterically as she is forced into the barrel and carted out into the woods somewhere. The killer digs a giant hole for about, maybe 10 minutes or so (seriously), as Amy begs and pleads with him to no avail, and then he dumps the barrel inside and covers it up. The film ends with a previous video of Amy and Megan talking about their lives, their friendships, and their bright futures that lay ahead….

These last few haunting shots of the film are definitely sick and twisted, and heartbreaking as you begin to realize that no matter how dumb these girls are, no one deserves this. It is also maddening because these days it is so hard to get through to kids and young teens about the dangers of the world. It sounds so cliché, but is it not true? Every week we’re hearing about some young person vanishing, either by way of the internet, or out doing something else crazy. I do not want to sound preachy, but if any movie will make you think this way, it’s this one. Like I said, the beginning half of the movie is pretty dumb, dull, and boring, but it really shows that young kids are extremely naive and way too trusting. They think, “Oh, it’ll never happen to me”, but apparently it will. The shots of Megan rotting in the barrel are brutal, and I have never seen a movie where the killer stuffs his living victim in a barrel with a dead one. Horrifying. As for the long-winded shovel dig, it does seem to take forever, literally, like, six or seven minutes long, but I suppose it is effective and useful in showing the horror of child abduction and murder. Anytime we as a society can grasp this and wake the fuck up, I guess it is a good thing. All said, this movie’s all right, not one you’ll want to watch often, but by the end it does have an incredibly powerful message. While it is not the most graphic movie I’ve ever seen or ever will see, it sort of haunts you and shocks you a little, like the way it feels splashing extremely cold water on your face. I’d fast forward some of the beginning, because it’s just like watching a teenage sex comedy, but the rest is kind of decent.

About Aloha Mister Hand

28, horror-loving chick, lover of animals, movies, and her boyfriend.

27 responses »

  1. Blair Hoyle says:

    I am intrigued! I will definitely check this movie out, despite the first half sounding pretty annoying. Great post!

  2. psykko666 says:

    I got stuck watching this with my wife. I’m sorry to disagree, but it is not a good movie in any sense of the word. If they wanted to draw your attention to something, they should have done a documentary. This was just bad. I wasn’t shocked at anything other than how bad it was.

    • Yeah, it’s really stupid, but I didn’t mind the last 20 minutes, because that was the only interesting part of it.

    • chelsey says:

      i know this movie sucked its not even true its based on a true case i hate this movie its so boring and nasty she give blow jobs and talks about her first time and how v’s dont know how to wear makeup thats a lame movie

  3. Great entry! I think movies like this have to be disturbing to preserve the truth of the story (though the story itself is fiction, the situation is not at all.) I know those images stayed with me long after I finished the movie.

  4. God, that sounds horrifying. Is it based on a true story?

  5. Ancient says:

    These movies usually aren’t my type, but because of this review, I’m going to have to check this one out. You’ve piqued my interest way too much! Good writing!

  6. GoreGalore says:

    Great article! I think I might give this one a try.

  7. jmount43 says:

    Now on my to watch list

  8. Some of these pictures look horrible – I will track this one down 🙂

    • Haha, yeah! But the movie itself is pretty iffy, not the best! LOL

      • Ill probably give it a watch anyway… I have resorted to watching films that are bit…meh! (I can usually tell in the first 10-15 minutes) in 1.5x speed, sounds weird I know but you get used to it. That way I don’t waste too much of my time on them. It’s like VHS long play, but in my head.

        Waiting for your poems 🙂 x

      • Haha, nice! Yeah, the movie is definitely worth it for the last 22 minutes or so. I was pretty conflicted about liking it or not, it was…weird! Too cheesy at same parts!
        LOL! Yeah, I’m still contemplating that! 🙂 I’ll get around to it soon, I’m sure! Haha!

      • That naked guy eating that other guys face in Miami is getting a loot press over here in the UK – u heard about it?

      • Oh yeah! That is so freaking weird! That poor old man! Can you imagine walking down the street, and having your face eaten off by some high-as-a-kite naked dude? Completely twisted, sick, and sad! I saw some pictures, but they haven’t been proven to be real. If they are, damn! Poor guy….

  9. JustMe says:

    Now I’m not saying it’s a bad film, and I’m not saying it’s a good film, but me being 16 it definitaley spooked me. Granted I was highly unprepared for what I was going to see and it was about 3 in the morning. I would suggest this film to people, but it isn’t a film for the faint of heart. That’s just me though. Feel free to say differently. Good review.

  10. Tysoncarter says:

    I saw this a while back. Really poor film I thought but I liked the message and ideas they were trying to convey. Nice brutal pics you got up, I thought my ‘head in a vice’ might get me in trouble but I’m safe now looking at yours! 🙂 Great write up as always

  11. Finally got round to seeing this movie. I think your review is pretty much spot on. I would agree the begining is overly long. I think the director was trying to hammer home the point of what teenagers are like & are getting up to behind their parents back. It does seem a little heavy-handed. The last 20 minutes are hard to watch. The scene with “Josh” digging was powerful because it lasted 10 minutes & Amy begging for her life become more pitiful as the scene progressed. Decent movie, great review.

Speak :)

