I’ll start off by saying that this is not a bad movie. Sure, the acting may not be tip-top, but hey, that’s okay. It was 1982. They were trying something new. I think a lot of people write this movie off instantly when they hear it has nothing to do with Michael Myers and his teenage murder fetish, save for the Samhain aspect, but I think that’s completely unfair. Especially when you consider the time period, the idea behind it, and the fact that the Halloween series of today was not the Halloween series of yesteryear. It was supposedly intended to be an anthology series, but once people got a taste of ol’ Michael, they weren’t about to let him go. So when this was released, everyone was disappointed,  and still continue to be today. I know, this movie is not that great, definitely not on par with the rest of the series, but like I said, it wasn’t originally intended to be. Considering it was 1988 before Michael Myers returned, it was presumed that he died after the climactic end of Halloween II. Therefore, horror fans can give this one a pass; there’s a reason, an explanation. Unlike the goddamn rage-inducing, piece of shit sham that was Halloween: Resurrection, but don’t get me started.

We meet Dr. Challis, an emergency room doctor who encounters a man, ranting and raving some crazy noise about someone killing everyone. Ya know, the usual. So, naturally, he thinks he’s insane. He is soon killed by a mysterious man who also commits suicide. Challis meets the man’s daughter, Ellie, who never quite rubbed me the right way, especially considering that after enlisting his help investigating what happened to her father, they sleep together. It’s too weird, they just didn’t mesh well together, in my opinion. They travel to a town, Santa Mira, whose claim to fame is the Silver Shamrock mask company, and of whose mask Ellie’s father was clutching that night. They discover dark and sinister plots, constructed by an evil man, Cochran, who plans to use the mask’s popularity to kill every child on Halloween night by way of a device implanted into the masks and activated by that damn television commercial we know all too well by now. The mysterious guards are actually robots, and after seemingly saving the day, Challis discovers Ellie has been turned into one, also. Sadly, he has to kill his mistress-turned-robot, and knowing that the television stations are about to start playing the commercial, he ends up at a gas station and calls all the networks (somehow, he knows all their numbers? Did I miss something?) and tells them to turn off the broadcast. They all listen, except for the last….as we end with Challis yelling into the phone for them to “Turn it off!”

It’s actually not a bad story, but I think for the time, and bad choice of title, it was not that well received. It is more respected today, because we know the reason behind it, and have given it more of a chance, but I think audiences weren’t ready for this back then. To their credit, it was relatively confusing, and not that exciting, so it was hard to follow, especially since a lot of people were probably staring at their screens anticipating a non-existent Michael Myers. But the plot is decent, and the effects are pretty neat, not to mention some gross death scenes with snakes and bugs and other yucky beings. It’s worth watching, but don’t expect our mask-wearing darling in this one!

The iconic ending scene. Forget the commercial, I think he was really just trying to stop that Silver Shamrock song… 

About Aloha Mister Hand

28, horror-loving chick, lover of animals, movies, and her boyfriend.

12 responses »

  1. I. LOVE. THIS. MOVIE. PERIOD.
    Tom Atkins Is A Personal Hero Of Mine, Anyway hahahaha
    I Saw This One Back In The Mid-80s, and Enjoyed It A Bundle.
    I Even PRE-ORDERED The DVD When It Was First Being Released hahaha
    Love It LOVE IT!
    Nifty Review, Ma’am!
    Nifty INDEED!
    -BRAD

  2. Reblogged this on "You Jivin' Me, Turkey?" and commented:
    Since I’m A Huge Fan Of “HALLOWEEN III: Season Of The Witch”…
    …AND Of The Blogger Doin’ The Review…
    …I Simply Couldn’t Pass-Up The Opportunity To Reblog This One.
    Love It LOVE IT!!!
    -BRAD

  3. I Simply HAD To Reblog It, Ma’am.
    It’s TOO GOOD To Pass-Up 🙂
    Keep’em Comin’, PLEASE!!!
    😉
    -BRAD

  4. theipc says:

    Love it 🙂

  5. Raymond says:

    Jamie, another excellent movie review. Since there is little more to say about the film’s content, I though I might add some color to the reception of the film itself. No doubt this one was poorly received as viewers felt “tricked” by the fact that the title suggested more Myers and he was of course absent. In addition, people did not understand the subtitle “season of the witch” because there was in fact no witches…I guess in 1982 we weren’t up to date on our paganism. If there is any blame for the films marketing “deception” we would have to point the finger at the originator’s John Carpenter and Debra Hill. It was their insistence that they would work on the film only if the movie “not” be about Myers that led to this strange little story line. What I find interesting about this particular “black mark” on the series is that its plot contained undertones of the dangers of “consumerism”and the movie itself created complaints by consumers (Hmm movie and reality merge). Although the box office proceeds were low (14 million) they were not as low as Halloween 5 (11.6 million) and in terms of return on investment, III did better than the 6th installment which had twice the production costs and grossed about the same . In truth the sales for the series declined almost immediately when II did half of I. Friday the 13th was a much more stable box office series and didn’t see its own ‘season of the witch’ crash until Jason tried to take Manhattan (ah you can take the boy out of the country but…)
    I do think other factors played a part in H3’s demise. It came out with Friday the 13th 3D (see Jamie’s review), Poltergeist, and Creepshow all of which crushed it at the box office, but I also think fans enjoyed the higher kill count in F3…Has anyone counted the number of kills to validate my thoughts on this one? I do have to disagree on the quality of the film itself. Even if we knife away the title and our expectations…It just wasn’t as good as other films of its time.

  6. Jamie, Morning love. Thanks for adding me to your blog roll and for this gem of a review and being one of those people who believes in signs both good and bad, I take it as a very good sign that we are going to become great mates. Just because you just so happened to review a movie that has always left me scratching my head and going “Why didn’t they just call it Season of the Witch?”

    I mean after the market for slasher movies was opened wide by 1978’s Halloween and solidified by 1980’s Friday the 13th, they could have had much more success if they had just gone out on the limb so to speak and not try to attach it to the Halloween Franchise and leaving the initial crowds pissed off enough to tell their friends not to see it!

    Don’t get me wrong here love, I have my own M.M. mask, every movie, every piece of memorabilia that you can find and even have an original 78 movie poster that was signed for me in 1990 when I got to meet Jamie Lee Curtis. So I am a little freaking nuts about the series.

    I have, in my head, rewritten and re-imagined the “Season of the Witch” installment and don’t think it’s a bad movie just the wrong title and a very poor budget considering it was riding on the rails of a cash maker like H1 & H2. Every element could have been better but in all the concept wasn’t bad! I actually hope someone like Rob Zombie will step in and take just the primary elements of the story and sit down and do what “Zombie did with H1 & H2 which I hate to say were actually better films than the originals even though his wife has to be in every film he makes? I like the idea of a witch or in this case a warlock with druid ties conspiring to take advantage of the planetary alignment of the galaxy and using mass consumer buying to load the gun so to speak. I think if someone were to set down and create the back-story, develop the character of Cocrine, and then show us what happens when that last television station isn’t warned and plays the commercial what happens? Show me the horror, don’t wet my lips and promise me steak and then sling a burger and fries to me and see if I will go for it.

    Obviously you spent a lot of time on your review and I thought it was great. I could go on and on about the movie, the franchise, and the whole notion of “Halloween” for hours but I won’t geek out on you mate. I do think that you made some very good points in your review and I only have one complaint. It’s 6am here and I now have the “Silver Shamrock Commercial” playing on a loop in my head and will probably be that way for the rest of the day. lmao… Thanks for the cue and reminding us all that a movie doesn’t have to change the industry to be entertaining.

    Witherton – again, thanks for the nod. 🙂

  7. I really liked the movie, maybe they should have dropped the Halloween tag & just released it as The Season Of The Witch. Now I have the bloody Silver Shamrock song in my head! 🙂

  8. The Thorn says:

    I think that the whole anthology thing would have been a wickedly fun idea. Thing is they would have needed to follow up the first two films with something tremendous. This films isn’t all that great to start off with, but after the first two… well, no wonder people don’t like it. They would have had to knock it out of the park on this one. Too bad, though, ’cause that sure would have been a blast.

    Speaking of which, if you haven’t seen it, check out ‘Trick ‘r Treat’. It’s hardly perfection itself, but this is more along the lines of what I think is a decent anthology film – despite the hoaky title.

    • I know what you mean! This one definitely didn’t suck, but of course, could’ve been a lot better. But I enjoy the low-budget, cheesy aspect of movies, so that’s okay with me, haha! I have seen Trick ‘r Treat, you’re right, it is really rad. Lot better than I expected it to be! 🙂

  9. wintri says:

    This was a good and fair review. I have never seen it, but have heard that now, many years later, people are reassessing it and giving it a better take. I always thought the movie poster looked creepy. What was your opinion of Dan O’Herlihy as the villian? People have said he is pretty good here. I’ll have to check it out. I think you can stream it at Amazon for about 2 dollars.

    • Thanks a lot! It’s been a couple years since I’ve seen it, but it is a pretty good movie, if you consider it a standalone. O’Herlihy as Cochrane was pretty diabolical, but you almost wish he had some more scenes. You’re right- the movie poster is really creepy, creepier than the actual movie, come to think of it. But it’s definitely not bad. Let me know what you think!

  10. Keep up the good work

Speak :)

