“A lesson in brutality”. That tagline is putting it mildly. This film, released in 2009 and directed by Uwe Boll, features a magnetic and frightening performance by Edward Furlong. I love him, and despite the troubles in his personal life, I still think he’s a hell of an actor. The fact is, in this film, it doesn’t even matter who the actors are, because the characters are so terrifying and depraved, that you, at some point, start to forget that these are actors playing parts. They are so convincing, dark and sadistic. The fact that this is based on a real incident in a German juvenile detention center in 2006 is even more troubling.

The story revolves around three cellmates who, after playing a particularly heated poker game, decided to gang up on the fourth. Not just gang up – I mean beat, torture, humiliate, and make fun of. This film is so real and raw and disturbing; there’s just something about it that really got under my skin. As you guys know, I have watched some really messed up stuff, but this one truly got to me. Either it was because it’s based on a true story, or because the acting was so convincing. Maybe it was because in this movie, which takes place primarily in a prison cell, the characters cannot escape, period. I have always been both fascinated by, and revolted by the actions that human beings take against one another, and this is a perfect example of that. Can we all just take a collective sigh of relief that we are not in prison? Whew…okay, that feels better. But it’s no consolation. This movie is very well-made, but it will likely not be one you’ll want to watch more than once or twice. After reading a review from the eclectic JDC-Witherton, I decided to give this film a go. I’m glad I did, but it definitely left me thinking about it long after it was through. From the beginning, knowing the synopsis, it makes you a bit nervous, and you’ll either bite your nails or smoke a cigarette. Maybe both. A very intense film, you’ll be kind of thankful that it’s only 90 minutes. Once again, I paused in giving any specifics in case you want to venture into this film as I did. Since I don’t think that many people have seen this one, I’d like to leave everyone with an open mind when it comes to the details. Happy viewing…..you’ll need it! 😀

About Aloha Mister Hand

28, horror-loving chick, lover of animals, movies, and her boyfriend.

9 responses »

  1. As a rule I try to avoid anything made by Uwe Bolle but lately his films have improved no end. Seed was actually watchable. I heard about Stoic a while ago & i have heard positive things about it. I will have to give the film a watch over the next few weeks. Nice review.

  2. You know, I’ve been seeing this about, but it didn’t look that good on first impressions. Gonna give it a go at the weekend now, ill let you know what I think 🙂

  3. goregirl says:

    I swore I would never watch another Uwe Boll film again but this actually intrigues me. For some reason I have never been able to explain, I have always liked Edward Furlong.

Speak :)

