If you haven’t seen this film, I strongly urge you to do so once it is released on DVD wherever you reside. We Need to Talk About Kevin follows a mother (Tilda Swinton) and the aftermath of a horrendous tragedy. Most of the film, however, is flashbacks to the beginning – the beginning of the tragedy that is Kevin. We see him as a newborn, a toddler, a little boy, and finally, a disturbingly dark, twisted teenager. Another film I love that debates the theory that people can be born bad, as well as nature vs. nurture, this one is psychological and actually features very little violence. If you want to see the development and upbringing of a psychopath, this one’s definitely for you!

Like some of my reviews, I will try not to divulge any major details, as this film is one you must experience on your own, and you cannot really grasp its power unless you do. I must say, and this is definitely the girly girl in me coming out, that Ezra Miller (teenage Kevin) is gorgeous. Not like, “OMG, he’s so hawt”, but he’s just a beautiful specimen. The fact that he can act extremely well only adds to his attractiveness. Probably not since Patrick Bateman has a psychopath really grabbed our attention, and hormones. Okay, that’s enough fawning, because it makes me sound unprofessional, but it is the truth. He is a fabulous young actor and has a bright future. Watching a little kid grow up to be completely apathetic and sociopathic is sheer genius, and I really don’t think any other set of actors could really pull this off. That said, John C. Reilly as Kevin’s dad, and Eva’s husband, is a strange choice, because frankly, it is weird to see Swinton and Reilly’s characters get it on. It’s just awkward. But, that said, I think it adds to the message of the movie. They never really seemed to connect to one another despite being married and the parents of two children. This disconnect adds to the tension of Eva’s suspicions about Kevin being really “off” since birth, as he is pretty close to his father and his dad never sees his bad side. This is usually what happens – one parent gets the shitty side, and the other gets the glowing, perfect child. That part is really scary, because to me, it means that Kevin knows what he’s doing and can manipulate any situation to his advantage. Even when he is a young child, his father always stands up for him, using the typical “boys will be boys” farce of an explanation. Kevin is really fucked up and twisted since birth and it only grows more intense and palpable as he matures into adolescence. Some attribute this to Eva never connecting to her son or feeling that motherly love, or it could be said that he is simply not all right from day one, which contributed to Eva feeling as if she never could fully connect in a maternal way. You could cut the tension with a knife, and you really get the sense that you’re a fly on the wall of this family.

Without giving away too much, many aspects of the film foreshadow the ultimate outcome, and even small things seem to connect by the end of the film. Kevin also injures his little sister, tricks his mom into giving her computer a virus, and even kills his sister’s pet. Though there is nothing really gory in this film, you can feel the emotional side of it, rather than having gore shoved in your face for its own sake. Some movies don’t require it, and this is absolutely one of them. You should check this film out if you’ve not seen it, as it comes highly recommended. It may start a little slow, but give it time and a chance, and it will blow your mind. Fantastic, fantastic film.

About Aloha Mister Hand

28, horror-loving chick, lover of animals, movies, and her boyfriend.

23 responses »

  1. Horror Daily says:

    I watched the first bit of this, and found it too depressing at the time to continue. It’s one of those films you have to be prepared to watch.
    Also, love the title you choose :p

  2. cigarrete burns says:

    I haven’t even heard of this movie but now I have to see it…excellent post!

  3. VERY NICE!!!
    I. MUST. SEE. THIS. !!!
    -BRAD

  4. Reblogged this on "You Jivin' Me, Turkey?" and commented:
    Talk About An EXCELLENT REVIEW!
    Makes Me Wanna Watch The Flick NOW NOW!!!

      • I Now Own This, btw. It’s A Powerful Flick, Ma’am. I Sincerely Enjoyed The Storytelling. They Did This Flick RIGHT. I Was Very Impressed.
        Thank You Again For Letting Me Know It Even Existed Again.
        I Wanted To See It…
        …Totally Forgot About It…
        …Then Read This Review.
        Now It’s Mine hahahaha
        I Call That A Win, Ma’am, Fo SHO!
        😉
        -B.

  5. rwhyan says:

    This never played at our theater (because our theater is shit) so I’ll have to wait till it get’s released on dvd but I did really want to see it, the trailer is totally creepy and the poster for the film was pretty awesome, reminded me of Rosemary’s Baby. Great review.

    • Thanks a lot! This never played in our theater, either, I don’t think. It is creepy, especially since people really are this evil. Let me know what you think when you see it! Appreciate it! 😉

  6. adamcard says:

    never heard of this one sounds a little unsettling, should be right up my alley…

  7. The Thorn says:

    Thanks for the tip. It’s now on my list 🙂

  8. The novel by Lionel Shriver is one of my all time favourite books & in comparison the movie was a disapointment. It seemed to miss out some of the really important plot details (the relationship between Kevin & his father)Had I only seen the film I’m sure I would have enjoyed it but I left the cinema utterly disapointed. Nice review & nice site.

  9. Not a problem. I completely agree with everything you said about American History X. Mind if I put a link to your blog on mine? I’m sure some of the people that read mine would be interested in yours

  10. Excellent post, and I couldn’t agree with you more when it comes to this film. It really is one that is ‘worth’ sitting through, no matter how tough or frustrating it is to watch in parts (I saw it with my mother, who just couldn’t stop herself from swearing at the screen; I don’t know what I was more shocked at: that, or what was happening on screen!).

    American Psycho is one of my all-time favourite films; the book was fantastic, but Christian Bale’s Pat Bateman must be one of THE most horrifyingly unforgettable film characters. I’m shocked I didn’t make the connection between the two of them (Bateman, and Kevin), but now you’ve said it… No one else is quite as chilling and beautiful as these two.

    Like you, I imagine, I love horror that explores the ‘creation’ of these nightmare characters. I don’t think there was a single shot (it could be a 30 second sequence of Tilda Swinton.. sitting) that felt unnecessary. It was almost as if every second revealed SOMEthing more about Kevin, yet even by the end of the (near) 2 hours, you were left thinking about even more than when you first started watching. Got to love a movie that leaves you so uncomfortable 😉

    Aah, I have a habit of comment-rambling. Sorry! Thanks for posting this, though, it was fantastic.

    • Thanks a lot! Appreciate your nice words! And don’t worry about comment-rambling, I like it! I am glad you enjoyed this film as well! It was so terrifying without being “scary”. I just bought the book, and though I’m only one chapter in, it’s pretty good! You’re right about even little things revealing more about Kevin, just slight things that some people may have even missed! I was swearing at the screen, too! I kept thinking, dude, they shoulda killed this kid themselves! LOL

  11. matts1970 says:

    that film bored me..i am not a fan of non-linear film making..nor do i like open endings…i liked Tilda Swinton as the Mom, and John C Reily played against type and the actors playing Kevin were all good. But the film was too choppy and unresolved for me.

  12. accidentalinitiations says:

    It’s an interesting sync that you followed my blog the week you ran this review. When we had John C. Reilly as a guest on Radio8Ball in April 2010 (with singer-songwriter Dan Bern) he was on location with this picture.

    http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.389220382055.178430.27164792055&type=3

    He gave no clue what an intense film this seems to be. Now I want to check it out.

    • Wow, that is a coincidence! Great photos! Yes, it’s pretty intense, in a more subtle way, and it is a slow burner, for sure. It’s also a book, which I’m just now getting started on. It’s fascinating. I’d love to know what you think when you watch it! Thanks for commenting! 🙂

Speak :)

