Okay, okay. I can hear you all now. ‘I thought she didn’t jump on the bandwagon’. Well, I normally don’t. But I can’t help it in this case. I have heard about these books for so long now, and just recently saw the preview of the new movie coming out in a week. I was transfixed! Then, I saw the first book, above, at Sam’s Club for $5! Who can pass up a five-dollar book? Apparently, everyone loves these books, so I guess I’ll give them a try, I thought. At least there’s no damn sparkling vampires and sulky, depressive teenage girls.

I am absolutely hooked. Really, this first book, of which I am almost finished, is completely delightful. You really will not want to put it down. I cannot wait to finish it and go see the movie. Hopefully on a night when it isn’t packed. Mostly because I don’t like to be sitting next to a bunch of people I don’t know, and I have to be able to sit on the aisle seat. Hey, I have a small bladder, so what? Maybe a matinee….anyway, I digress. This time, the book really does live up to the hype, and from the looks of the movie, it seems to be right on the money.

In case you don’t know, which you probably do, the story is set in the future, in the remains of what used to be America. Everything is renamed and broken up into districts, with each having a central focus (i.e. mining, agriculture, etc.). The Capitol is where the rich folk live, and since one of the districts rebelled years ago against the establishment, they have implemented yearly Hunger Games, whereby two representatives from each of the 12 districts, a boy and girl, are chosen to fight to the death on live television. Yeah, really! It is awesome, and I am about three-fourths of the way finished with the first book. Then, I’ll have to go buy the other two. I can just see me now, not getting anything productive done. Oh well, The Hunger Games rocks! 🙂

CAN’T WAIT 🙂 

About Aloha Mister Hand

28, horror-loving chick, lover of animals, movies, and her boyfriend.

25 responses »

  1. I liked the first book…LOVED the second…and thought the third was fine.
    I do agree Hunger Games rocks, though – Sounds like the movie will too, it’s sitting at 100% at Rotten Tomatoes last time I looked.

  2. rwhyan says:

    Lol, don’t worry I haven’t met a single girl who doesn’t like these books. I’ve never read the books but you really can’t go anywhere without seeing them at this point. There is a lot of buzz surrounding this movie and early reviews say that it does live up to all the hype. Jennifer Lawrence is a great new actress and although I have not read the books I think she will be able to do justice to the character. I HATE seeing a movie I’m really excited about on opening weekend because you have to sit around a bunch of talking retards which totally ruins the experience. Seriously… It’s expensive to see a movie anymore and I don’t want it to be ruined because people would rather talk and stuff their fat faces with over priced candy. Definitely see it during a matinee in the middle of the week when the tweens are in school.

  3. Shawn Talley says:

    Don’t feel bad, I’m a guy who just finished reading the trilogy post-all the hype, and they still hooked me. I wouldn’t say they’re not high art or the best-written books I’ve ever read, but they’re masterfully-paced and damn entertaining. I absolutely loathe everything Twilight, but the Hunger Games series will unfortunately never shake the comparisons (YA Fiction series with a rabid fanbase… but so is Harry Potter). There’s definitely a lot more to it, though, than those who dismiss it as fodder for the tweenybopper crowd realize. Haters gonna hate, I guess.

    Everything about the big screen adaptation, from the cast to the costumes, looks spot-on. Suzanne Collins was apparently on board for every step of the production, so I expect a pretty faithful adaptation. Don’t feel bad, my excitement for this is somewhat palpable, too.

    That you’re able to like something that’s super popular doesn’t make you a bandwagon’er, it just proves you’re not a hipster. 🙂

  4. Loved the books and am looking forward to the film, though I’m worried about how well they will portray Cinna’s designs 🙂

Speak :)

