• Strangeland – If you take it for what it is, this movie is highly creepy. It is one of the first, that I know of, to use the premise of stupid young girls meeting guys off the internet. Doesn’t help that the guy’s handle is Captain Howdy, and that he is Dee Snider. Oh, yeah, and he’s a serial killer and sadomasochist. Either you love this movie or hate it, and some might find it laughable, but I try to take movies as a whole story, and I truly found Captain Howdy very scary. Because people like that exist! The scariest stuff is always stuff that exists all around us, just lurking in the shadows. Not to mention, he looks really freaky. Bonus: Robert Englund is in this, too!

  • Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Next Generation – Watching Renee Zellweger kick Leatherface’s ass is a good thing in my book, but apparently some people hate this movie with a passion. I believe sometimes people expect too much of horror films, like they expect every movie to be like The Exorcist or Halloween. Yeah, some movies are not great, but that doesn’t mean they don’t deserve some modicum of respect. I found this one to be a great throwback to the grittiness of the 1970s, with the cheesiness of the 1980s, with some hot 1990s young actors. Okay, so it’ll never win an Oscar, but it will make you laugh, and possibly cringe, either at the acting or the gory scenes. It’s definitely different, with a little country/rock music thrown in, with a dash of conspiracy theory.

  • The Fog – This is another film that you either love or hate. I find it classic, simple, and virtually uncomplicated, much like Halloween. It just, is. Of course, it has John Carpenter’s haunting theme music that he is known for, and some creepy looking sailors. You never really get a good look at them, which is a good thing, because like I’ve said before, what you don’t see is always scarier than what you do see.  Plus, their silhouettes in the fog makes for some classic scenes. It also has some Carpenter loyals, Nancy Loomis, Jamie Lee Curtis, and Charles Cyphers. I always enjoy watching this near Halloween, and I feel this proves you don’t need a bunch of gore or a ton of obvious special effects to make you feel uneasy.

  • The Skeleton Key – Arguably, Kate Hudson is not the best actress in the world, but I think she pulled it off in this one. It’s not hard to be scared of a superstitious, possessed Gena Rowlands! As someone who has always been interested in beliefs and strange religion, this one definitely appealed to me. It also comments on how deep someone can fall into something without even intending to. That’s what the antagonists are counting on. Plus, it isn’t afraid to have an unhappy ending, and is made to leave you wondering.

  • Urban Legend – Though this film emerged at the height of the 1990s teen-horror film kick, I feel this one got an unnecessary bad rap. It’s not really scary, but it is a good story, with some of the best kills, you gotta admit. Basing murders on popular urban legends, especially on a college campus? I found it hard to believe someone hadn’t done this before. With a fresh-faced, beautiful cast, you are wondering throughout who is going to be next, and who the killer is. Though the big reveal is not that surprising, the reasoning behind it is rather unique, and understandable when you consider how unstable people can really be. More positive notes include that this was made before Tara Reid started hating herself and got all scary-lookin’, and a very Pacey-esque character portrayed by Pacey himself, Joshua Jackson. And it stars Danielle Harris as well, so if you really hate it, if you’re a true horror fan, you’ll at least respect that tidbit!
About Aloha Mister Hand

28, horror-loving chick, lover of animals, movies, and her boyfriend.

12 responses »

  1. rwhyan says:

    Awesome! I love The Fog it is definitely a movie to watch during Halloween. You are totally right about the scariest things are when you can’t actually see them because it lets your mind run in all sorts of directions. Very interesting list, I liked it a lot!

  2. Glad to see Carpenter’s ‘The Fog’ on the list! I absolutely love that movie and sadly, it doesn’t get as much love as it should. I’ll be the third to agree it is a great horror flick to watch around Halloween.

    -Steve

  3. Horror Daily says:

    Out of what I have personally seen, I agree that The Fog, is astounding, whille Strangeland is only ok.
    But The Texas Chainsaw Massacre Next Generation, was a pile of crap that couldn’t even keep me awake, which is saying something when I have a crush on Renee, and Urban Legend had some great ideas for kills set up ,and the beginning with Brad Dourif is perfect, the rest of the film falls flat on it’s face, except for Danielle Harris<33<33. Me and my friends still quote the black cop when she busts in at the end as " DRANK'EM'WHACK'EM" Thought she really says " Drop your weapon"

  4. All right. You’ve convinced me, I will watch The Fog and The Skeleton Key, both of which are easily accesible to me – heck I think I own Skeleton Key. Why I haven’t gotten around to them before now I don’t know. Sometimes I just need a little motivation, I guess.

    • Haha, awesome! I do have a different taste than others sometimes, so I hope you like them! But if not, don’t yell at me 😉 LOL Trust me, I think you might be pleasantly surprised. By The Fog, I mean the original, not the lame remake, in case you were wondering! Let me know what you think!

  5. HorrorBore says:

    I can’t even begin to explain how much more awesome you have just become for including Strangeland in this list! It is, hands down (or strung up by hooks) my all time favorite movie. Now before some of you thinking I have a screw or two loose (which I do, but let’s focus on the fuzzy slippers for now) let me tell you why:

    1. This movies shows the true demented side of Dee Snider
    2. Believe it or not, there are people out there that do these things (suspension)
    3. There is nothing more terrifying and exciting than a movie based on human mentality. Don’t believe me, go watch the movie The Strangers and see if you don’t lock your door every time you are alone in your house.

    • Haha, thanks! I don’t know hardly anyone else who has seen Strangeland, but its awesome. I know people do that, it’s crazy! Oh, yeah the Strangers is awesome! I saw it like three times at the theater. I always lock my door no matter what so that didn’t really affect that, lol 🙂 Thank you for your comments, yay!!

  6. RaoulDukeKD says:

    Nice list. I’d put Frailty up there too. Bill Paxton is scary as hell in that movie.

  7. Kate Hudson is obviously hot, and talented!

  8. Gary Lee says:

    Captain Howdy is definitely one of the most fascinating villains I’ve seen…

Speak :)

